Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Critique My Reload

Supermoto

I am new to USPSA shooting and have been practicing my reloads.

I shot a quick movie because I thought it would be the easiest way for everyone to see what I was doing and give suggestions.

From what I have read. I reload to low and move my head down as I bring the gun up. I do this on the draw also.

Any tips would be great

the movie is only 2.8 Mb so it should be fast to load, mayb faster than me ;)

www.walshimaging.com/image/drawreload.mov

My reload movie.

Edited by Jon Merricks

I'll jump in here...

Draw - look at all that movement you've got in the upper body. Your shoulders hunch, your head comes down. Your butt goes out. You want to eliminate all of that extra movement. Some people like the "butt out" stance - get there before you start, if you want to keep that. Otherwise, keep your head and shoulders still, move your arms and hands only, to the gun, and then up to the target.

Reload - a lot of extra movement here, too. Your right hand flicks the gun in, and then back out straight, and then pulls it in and way down. Your left hand goes straight to the mag, but as it's coming up to the gun watch it reach the level of the gun, and then follow the gun back *down* before you can seat it. With the level that you're reloading at, you can't really see into the mag well - and it takes extra time both to seat the mag (because you can't see) and to move the gun down there and back up.

Go watch this video of Travis Tomasie doing a reload about a jillion times - http://www.doublealpha.biz/images/travis_reload.mpg - notice how still he is, and how the gun stays up in his face? He pulls in it some, and tilts it so he can see the magwell. The left hand moves straight to the mag, and straight up to the magwell. Yes, he's lightning fast - cause he's done 8 million reloads :) But, the fundamentals are all the same - shortest paths, no wasted movement, etc... :)

Hope that helps, anyway... :)