Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Help Me Build A Jp Rifle

PistolPete

I've decided to take the plunge and buy an AR and I want to do this right. I have 2 options.

1.) Buy a Bushmaster and throw money into it to get it where I want

or:

2.) Build a JP Rifle and never look back!!!

The decision for me is easy. Build a JP Rifle. What I want to know is what does everyone recommend for a setup?

I called JP today and talked with John. He was such a nice gun and extremely friendly and helpful. I'm new to the Rifle game and need all the help I can get. I will be using this gun for IPSC 3 gun eventually but until I get up to speed will be used for mostly practice. Here is what JP recommended:

18" Lightweight or Ultra Lightweight barrel w/ Benni Coli comp.

Low Mass Stainless Steel Carier

Armalight Scope Mount

Short Range Tactical sight

1/8 Butt stock

He then recommended that I add a Leopold 2x7 or 3x9 scope.

I will prob. spend the extra $500 and get the milled receiver as well even though I don't need it.

Does this sound like the right setup or should I consider something else? After talking with them I'm guessing this is the best setup for me. Keep in mind that I'm totally new to rifle. I had an AR years ago but didn't shoot it much so lets say I'm totally new to this part of the game.

Thanks,

Pete

That's a fine setup, especially with the upgrade on the upper.

Myself, I would either go with a Trijicon ACOG (TA11, or JP reticle TA-01) or a low powered variable like the Leupold CQT or a Leupold 1.5-5x.

I'm trying to figure out exactly what the rifle I want to buy is. I hate buying something sight unseen. I know the JP Rifles are prob. the best out there so I'm not worried about that. I've got everything figured out with what I want for this rifle except for the receiver. I was thinking of buying the milled receiver but haven't been able to find any info or pictures with this receiver. Does anyone have any pics of this receiver?