Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

What Book Or Video Helped You The Most In The Beginning?

tpe187

I've been shooting for several years, and have done several IPSC matches, but haven't really focused on a training program.

I have both limited and open guns and depending on how I feel on a particular day, I shoot either one. I would say I was a C to B class shooter right now.

I now have the new PACT MKIV timer and I want to start improving my skills. I'd really like to start getting the most out of the timer. I initially noticed that I was pretty accurate, but slow in my draw and initial shot.

What books or DVD's are most helpful to a shooter trying to learn the basics or break old habits? Thanks for any help.

Tom

I hear Practical Shooting, Beyond Fundementals is a good book. I really need to go ahead and gets some books. The only book I own is SA dryfire book.

I would recommend MBurketts videos. He covers the basics for a decent price. There are many. I would go with Volumes 1-4

I would recommend Steve Andersons Refinement and Repetition dryfire book.

Between the videos and dryfire book that will give you solid start.

Go here for Refinement and Repetition

Go here for MBurkett's videos and Brians bookClick here

Flyin40

For me, the biggest thing that helped me when I was D to B class was personal contact w/ IPSC folks and the help they gave me. There were MacGill videos out there, but I didn't have any to watch.

I hooked up w/ Burkett via the IPSC-L mail list, and bought his book. That book was a *great* resource. I've only seen vol. 4 of his videos, so I can't speak for them - my understanding is that they cover the same kind of ground.

Later, as I was moving into A and into M, I found Brian's book and a book called Performing Your Best (mind game stuff) extremely useful.

Lately, I'm using Anderson's book for a structured dry fire routine and ideas, and I've found both of Saul's books interesting, and Lanny Bassham's book is also great, so... :)