Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Competition trigger in appendix rig?

Twilk73

I’ve been told it’s not recommended to run a 2.75-3.25 competition trigger in an appendix rig. Why is it going to go off by its self? What’s the deal? The duty trigger offered is 4.5 pounds. The stock current trigger might be 5.5 pounds. This is an archon type b. 

anyway I’ve been practicing my draw for over a year and dry firing for just as long. I’ve had some training (msp 3 day course) and I’ve been competing for a few months. I want to upgrade the trigger. But the duty weight hardly seems worth the squeeze. I didn’t care for triggers nor was I a snobby trigger guy until I shot my buddies legion with a 2.5 pound trigger. Honestly, I’ve shot his gun a few times but the other day after shooting his gun I had this trigger snob awakening within me and now I got the itch to go light. 

How hard is it to push a 4lb block up an incline plane with a greater cofx, than a 2.5 lb block up an incline plane where the surface is polished and a much lower coefx?

The trigger may not change the probability of the fun spontaneously discharging. But it may allow the same chain of events to propagate further than otherwise. 

Or at least that is the most thoughtful answer that I've heard. Excluding the gun spontaneously going off, you're left with you. And you boils down to muzzle discipline and finger discipline. And frankly you can break one of the two and still be unlikely to shoot yourself. Break both though....

5 hours ago, rowdyb said:

How hard is it to push a 4lb block up an incline plane with a greater cofx, than a 2.5 lb block up an incline plane where the surface is polished and a much lower coefx?

The trigger may not change the probability of the fun spontaneously discharging. But it may allow the same chain of events to propagate further than otherwise.