Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Pants/shoes/top recommendations

thegeneric

I'm very new to all of this so please bear with me on the mountain of questions:

Pants:

I'm 5'11, 185-195lbs, a 31-33 waist size, athletic body type, with a long torso if that information is relevant.

The super ridgid belt system really digs into my hip bones. I'm talking bruising + tender skin from chaffing. I'm assuming my thinner hiking pants (Prana) aren't really helping the situation, and the belt loops are pretty flimsy.

Are there pants that are thicker around the waistband to at least provide some sort of cushioning while still allowing good mobility? (Prefer some sort of elasticity/stretch as I fluctuate waist size quite often throughout the year).

How high do y'all wear your pants/belt? 

Are there products on the market specifically designed to address this? I've stumbled on this: https://www.511tactical.com/zero-g-plate.html. Has anyone used this in a competition setting?

Shoes:

- one local club has gravel sporadically laid on the ground (quarter to ping pong ball sized) on top of very hard limestone. I've personally seen many shooters eat it while moving, I assume some sort of hiking type sole would help?

- Would shoes that work well in the above scenario also work well on the smooth concrete floor of indoor ranges?

- I prefer soft mid top type shoes/boots because normal tennis really chaff up my Achilles area.

Any recommendations?

Top:

- Any general recommendations? I hate cotton shirts... and it gets quite hot in Texas

- What're the arm sleeves I see people wearing for? UV protection or is there some sort of compression for your forearms?

Thank you for any help y'all could provide.

Edited by thegeneric