Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

How to Learn the 2011

saibot

Experts-

I am fairly new to the 2011/1911 platform and I really have no idea how to do much other than disassemble/reassemble it. I'd like to get a deeper understanding of how they work so I can troubleshoot them, fix them, fit new parts, etc. Any ideas on books/videos/courses/etc. to get more proficient with them?

Thanks again!

1 minute ago, saibot said:

Experts-

I am fairly new to the 2011/1911 platform and I really have no idea how to do much other than disassemble/reassemble it. I'd like to get a deeper understanding of how they work so I can troubleshoot them, fix them, fit new parts, etc. Any ideas on books/videos/courses/etc. to get more proficient with them?

Thanks again!

for the most part any book on 1911's will cover 99% of the 2011. I also know some gunsmiths will host groups of shooters if you ask them. They will charge a fee typically but it seems a great way to get a lot of gun/builder trivia. 

The YouTube videos helped me a ton and I quickly learned how easy it was to take them down completely and then put back together. That simple ability sure helps with trouble shooting and issue diagnosis 

Thanks guys for the suggestions. I did watch most of the Atlas videos already, good suggestion! Also found some good videos on the basics. I guess I would like to get more "gunsmithing" savvy and know how to work on things at a deeper level. I see AGI has some videos for sale, but not sure if those would be going overboard. I just bought a gunsmithing book on amazon that looks good. It had good reviews and the Kindle version was under $5. 
https://amzn.to/2PuvsEd 

Thanks again everyone for the posts. Keep 'em coming.

2 minutes ago, saibot said: