Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

What would you suggest?

MHitchcock

Looking for suggestions on an open pistol. I know this has probably been asked many times, but each person's situation is slightly different so here it goes:

I am new to shooting sports in general and have been shooting production in my first two USPSA matches. It is way more fun that I ever thought it would be and I have a lot of learning to do. That being said. I have a 22/45 with a side mounted c-more 2.25lb trigger etc that I shoot in rimfire challenge that is an absolute blast. I am planning on focusing on production for at least a few seasons. However, I am entertaining the idea of picking up an open pistol to develop a load and get a handle on the shooting experience (and to shoot on the odd occasions our local USPSA will let us run in more than one division).

My thinking is to pick up something like a used Trubore in 38sc or 9mm. Then I can have a 90 degree c-more mount (similar to sight on the 22/45) on a relatively inexpensive (for open) gun that can serve as a back up gun if I go all-in and get a custom one built in the future.

Does this seem like a realistic way of going about things? Or should I be waiting and getting a custom gun built down the road (i.e. getting one built in a few years after gaining some more experience in production).

Any input is appreciated!

Go for it. A cheap used open 2011 in either 9 or super is a good start. Later when you've shot if a while you can buy a nice new custom with the features you want.

It doesn't have to be a trubor though. They are fine but don't exclude other second hand 2011s from known builders like Akai, cheely, freedom, sv, limcat etc etc. they are often great value used too. :)