Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

First things to do to a CRP Eagle?

bluedevil008

Hello everyone,

I am new to the 2011 world after running limited Glocks for a year. I just bought a CRP Eagle and need to know what to do first. I got a couple 140mm STI tubes + TTI pads,followers, and springs to start off. I have NO idea what I'm doing, so I need to know what to do first to get it running reliably.

First problem is the Taran mags I've assembled are tough to load the first initial because the follower seems to sit too far forward in the mag and comes out of the top a little when loading the first two rounds. Somehow the gun loaded a round completely backward in the chamber after running some rounds through (not firing, just racking).

I will be using this for USPSA and 3 gun, so I'll be running some really light .40 for 3gun. Currently the slide is a b**** to get pull back compared to my old Glock.

Is there an 2011 For Dummies anywhere? What typically needs to be done to stock STI's to get them running fairly reliably off the start? What about a mag built by scratch? I'd rather not spend 10 hours dremeling/polishing, I initially just want it to feed reliably enough to not put rounds backwards haha

EDIT: Couple other things.

1) Recommended OAL is 1.180 correct? Rounds I am using to cycle through are basically factory length.

2) TTI magazines are holding slide open with 1 round still in magazine, how do I fix this? (I will probably eventually just disable slide-lock eventually anyways)

Thanks!

Edited by bluedevil008

12.5# recoil spring works for most. I use that shooting major

If you load to 1.180 you will have to make sure the throat on your barrel is lomg enough for that

Any follower that is thin enough to allow an extra round is going to lock back with a round still in the mag. Stock followers will lock the slide when empty but are not going to add a round to the capicity