Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Shell types for shotgun only matches

Hi,

I'm new to multi-gun type events. I'm shooting a few shotgun only matches this year and have a question about loads. Typically when a match calls for say target, buckshot an slugs, are they ever mixed in the same stage? I guess I'm wondering of I need to be worried about the strategy of when to load different tiles, or if stages are usually all one type. Thanks!

Kyle

Almost always mixed. Some stage designers like to even put slugs in the middle of the stage to make planning your loads more difficult (like that's necessary).

Have a good plan on how to keep at least two kinds of ammo separate for reloading in case you have to take more slug shots than expected for example.

Frequently. Buck is less common than slugs, but definitely expect a match to make you throw in a slug or two right in the middle somewhere. Sometimes they'll be segregated well enough that you can start or end with them, often not.

Something I learned this past weekend...

Guys will use #6 loads to hit spinners. Turkey loads, plenty of punch and one shot will get the spinner moving with authority.

This match, nothing larger than #7 1/2 shot allowed.

So, the smarter gamers used some high brass Rem Long Range 2 3/4 " #7 1/2 shot and one shot was all it took.

My little Fed bulk pack #7 1/2 took several shots to get them moving. Just one more item to add to the flexiblity of the shotgun.

its funny that a lot of folks (MDs/RMs included) are zeroing in on the shot size (6, 7 1/2, ect) when wanting to restrict damage or power used on a target, when the actual ability to hit harder at a nominal distance of 10-20 yds on a spinner is totally reliant on the amount of shot and powder that is loaded in the shell...

I could hand you a shell loaded with #12 shot that would have a spinner rotating like a ceiling fan with one shot, and another loaded with #5 shot that wouldn't hardly move it...

:roflol:

jj

Edited by RiggerJJ