Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Stage planning

SISIG

I learn by watching other shooters and pay attention to there times. There is usually more than one efficient way to shoot stages. It is going to come down to what skills and movements you are better at than others. Avoid traps on stages if at all possible until your last position. I learned that from a gm last match. I was doing my walk threw and going straight into a trap that was going to cost me at least 3-4 seconds on that stage. Always try to keep moving and shooting as much as possible. I am still learning and fairly new to the uspsa game and these are the things I look for when gaming a stage.

watch other shooters,,, try to keep moving and shooting

Watch other Production shooters - not the ltd/open shooters:((

Learning to shoot on the move takes some time - great time saver, if you know how

+1. Don't be looking around to find targets when you're shooting - know where the

next target is when the whistle goes off.

Remember where you're going to reload - nothing worse (ok, there are some things

worse) than a standing reload.

When you've finished the COF, and suddenly remember you didn't shoot one (or more)

targets - think (quickly) whether it's better to take the penalty, or start

shooting again (especially if you have to change positions or reload).

If you go back to shoot another target, don't break the 180 or endanger the R.O. :cheers:

Arrive at the start position with a plan that matches your shooting ability. Just because a Production Grand Master can hit those two poppers that activate two drop-turning disappearing targets and get 4 alphas on them, that doesn't mean that you can. Know your ability and shoot within it.