Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Metal grips for a 3 gun 2011

nicholastheczar

I am looking at having a 9mm 2011 built up to be used as my 3 gun pistol. This will be my first 2011 so I am pretty new to all things 2011. The grips the smith uses are PTs. I am looking at the metal grips and am trying to decide on the aluminum vs steel grips.

My concern is the weight of the steel with a loaded mag and running around a stage with the pistol in the holster with all that weight in the grip of the gun. I've only held, not shot, the two grips side by side and the aluminum feels significantly lighter. I am going Wednesday to shoot both to see what I like better but I am just thinking of 3gun stages like at the Fallen Brethren where the pistol may be the last gun used and you have to cover some good distance at a brisk pace from the beginning to the end of the stage and you have the extra weight of the steel grip flopping around in the holster.

Any downside to an aluminum grip in a 9mm 2011? I've heard of cracking issues but haven't seen any with the PTs (from what I have read). Anything advice or suggestions would be appreciated before I shoot them both this week. Thanks!

Nick

I use an aluminum grip on my 3 gun pistol. The steel is overkill for that venue. It helps a lot when shooting major power factor stuff, but for those 9mm powder puff loads, not so much. I would bet that an aluminum grip on that gun would hold up fine.

I use an aluminum grip on my 3 gun pistol. The steel is overkill for that venue. It helps a lot when shooting major power factor stuff, but for those 9mm powder puff loads, not so much. I would bet that an aluminum grip on that gun would hold up fine.

This is the direction I'm leaning towards. My 115gr 9mm reloads are on the lighter side anyways and agree that with these loads, even with some of the thinner grips that have cracked w/ .40s, it seems like it would be harder to crack them with the lighter 9mm rounds.

Edited by nicholastheczar