Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Need SS info

magpulled

I'm gonna start shooting single stack soon and need some advice. I will be using a range officer in 45 acp and have installed a Dawson .90 fofs, vz operator grips, Dawson gap mag well and grip tape to the front strap. What I need to know is what are the best mags and mag pouches. Also, do I need an ambi safety? I would think so when shooting weak hand only in matches, but hey I'm new to shooting competitions and what do I know? Thanks in advance for any info.

Ambi safeties are beneficial especially if you tend to bump the safety up during weak hand shooting.

Classic Wilson mags are good for the price. I've seen more and more Tripp/Cobra mags in use along with the ETM Wilson mags.

As for mag pouches, it depends on how much you want to spend.

The purpose built SS pouches from DAA are nice. Safarilands are good also along with Bladetech.

Spacing becomes a concern if "real estate" is an issue.

There are cheaper options but I haven't tried any of those.

My advice:

1. Wilson 47DX magazines (these are the regular 47D mags with the Wilson extended base pads). I've found these to be the most reliable, but I also haven't used the Tripp's mentioned above to compare them against. (For what it's worth, the Wilsons are also very easy to take apart for cleaning and rebuilding.)

2. Blade Tech makes an excellent product. I prefer to use a string of single pouches rather than doubles since that gives you the most options for belt mounting.