Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

9mm Setback Issue

johnhhuber

I am fairly new to reloading and am having an issue with my ammo. I am loading 9mm with Rainier Bullets on a Dillon Square Deal B. I use mixed brass I collect and clean. I am having bullet setback issues (where I can push the bullet back into the case) on maybe 1 out of 100 rounds. Is this a problem with my reloader, the way it is set up, or me? I have searched this topic a few times but since my issue is not consistent, I wanted to start a new thread. Thanks in advance for any and all help!

One possibility is that you're loading them too short and the neck of the casing is trying to grip the part of the bullet that's curved in, not the lower, flatter part. Could also be you need to get an undersized die to prevent pushback.

One possibility is that you're loading them too short and the neck of the casing is trying to grip the part of the bullet that's curved in, not the lower, flatter part. Could also be you need to get an undersized die to prevent pushback.

Your first theory is highly unlikely and you can not put a Udie in an SDB.

Check the headstamp of the ones that set back. If they are all the same that is the problem. Federal case walls are thin in my experience as well as some of the lesser known brands that show up in mixed range brass.

Make sure your die is down as far as it needs to be. i.e. just kissing or very close to the plate.

What is your COAL?

Rainers are more than wide enough to grip the case with standard resizer...

You 'might' consider resizing on a seperate press utilizing a Lee "U" die to guarantee good neck tension.

Set back is bad juju man....

I kept reading re: setback and didn't believe my Square Deal was responsible for any,

but a year ago I tested it.

Loaded up 100 rounds with my SqD (9mm major - seated to 1.16") and ran them

thru the gun - fired another 100 rounds, alternating so I could keep the original