Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

P14 or P18 mags in P16?

SSGJohnV

Hello All,

I was looking online for original made in Canada P16-40 mags so I could have some spares for competition and it occurred to me. Can I use or convert P14-45 or P18-9 mags to work in a 1999 Para Limited P16-40?

I imagine the P18 mags would be a better bet but I don't know for sure. I know I can get a converted mag catch to use STI mags, but 20-21 rounds reloadable with DP base pads sounds pretty enticing. Any thoughts?

I tried to convert a P14 (45 cal) mag to run 40 and failed miserably. I was able to get the feed lips correct by cutting and welding up the body but the hardwood I used to narrow the inside of the mag failed miserably.

P18 mags are a better idea but I have no direct experience. I am also not sure that the availabililty is any better nor what kind of capacity you will get in the end.

For reliability and availability I recommend going straight to the STI mags with the modified catch. It is a little more expensive but you will end up with the capacitiy you are looking for and the reliability that is required to compete.

Retread.

Very likely no. It would take too much work, plus the canadian P-16 mags are not of the highest quality. Per Mr. Tomasie, the P-16 hi cap mags are in the process of being redesigned (I don't when it will be complete). They don't plan on making a 10-round P-16 mag the last time I heard.

I called Para yesterday asking about the redesigned mags and they had no clue, except to say they were "in testing" at the moment. I was asking because I saw several original Canadian P18 mags for sale on the web, but almost no P16 mags.

I will buy the modded catch eventually, but I already have 4 original Para mags set up, so then I would have to mod them as well if I don't want to just throw away the investment/utility of them.