Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

training and shooting the texas star!

DrLove

Folks,

I'm new to USPSA and I love it.

Now I'm sure you've all been there but this texas star is making me crazy!! It kills my time in most stages that I just can't make up!!

So question is, how do you train for this? I know the rule, shoot the top one first but once you start shooting the other plates it will still move and take me forever to finish it. Last match I lost more than 40 seconds in two stages just shooting the texas star!

Any advice on shooting it and training for it (and obviously I don't have a texas start at home:), would be appreciated...

Are you an ambusher or a chaser? Pick a system and train on it!

do you have access to 8" steel plates?

Without the actual star mechanism, it will be difficult to replicate the star but if you have 8" plates you can arrange them in a similar fashion to work on your transitions and figure out how much trigger control you need to hit them.

Without the actual star mechanism, it will be difficult to replicate the star but if you have 8" plates you can arrange them in a similar fashion to work on your transitions and figure out how much trigger control you need to hit them.

I have 8" plates but how can I use them to train if they don't move:)?

Also, which way is better, chasing them or ambushing them?

I try to clear them before the star begins moving too much, but that usually doesn't go as well as I envisioned. I find ambushing works better for me. I don't always stay in one spot and wait for the plates to come there. That doesn't work well when you're waiting on the right and the plates start rotating left. I want to ambush them from below the plates' direction of travel so I can see them coming. That is, if the star is rotating clockwise, I'll hold at ~5 o'clock. When it starts going the other way, I may move over to ~7 o'clock so I can see the plates descend into my sights.