Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

switching between open and limited

PKS

Hi All,

I started shooting 2.5 years ago, and I just finished my first year of competition. I am basically a 50 (+/-5)% shooter (both in classifiers and area/national matches) in both limited (SVI) and open (STI 38 super).

I have taken a one day class from Matt, and during the shooting season I dryfire almost daily and do live fire practice about 3 times a week. Despite all this, I feel that my progress is still slow. Last season I shot open for half the season, and limited for the other half.

My questions are:

Does switching guns slow my improvement?

What type of training are others doing, and what rate of progress are they achieving?

How do I know if my training is effective?

Thanks in advance for sharing your collective experiences.

-- Prashant

I believe that switching guns will slow your improvement.

As far as progress goes, it's different for different people, depending on their level of shooting experience, practice, and their cognitive skills.

My suggestion to you if you want to improve significantly is to stay with one gun until you get the desired result. Then you may want to switch gun until you get the same result from the second gun. Open gun and limited gun are two different games because of the sights and the mag restrictions (you can run with a big stick in open).

You will know that your training is effective if you kept track of what you did before and what you are doing now. Everything is a learning experience. The training just helps the learning go faster because you are learning from someone else who went through the experience so you don't need to. If you find yourself looking at stages and applying what you learned, then your training was effective.