Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

New STI Eagle 9mm owner - NY resident, need source of 10 round mags

lksyotas

Hello everyone, I just purchased my first 2011 handgun today - an STI Eagle 5" 9mm. I've owned a few single stack 1911's over the years and sold my last one a year ago. Looking to get back into a 1911 (2011) style gun mainly for IDPA, steel, and 3Gun. I've been shooting a Glock 17 and 34 for past six years in competition. Just missing that sweet single action trigger. To complicate things, I'm a NY state resident and within the next month will need to have secured enough 10 round magazines to last me as our new unconstitutional law states that after the 15th of April, we will no longer be able to buy magazines in excess of 7 rounds. And all of my preban "standard" capacity mags are now illegal to possess so I'm moving them to relatives in PA.

So my dealer I purchased the Eagle from said he can order 10 round STI magazines but it may take a month to get. Anyone have a place that may have them in stock? I'd really like to secure these before its too late. I know how hard it is currently finding any magazines nation wide due to the circumstances our country is in but I figured if anyone would know it would be you guys.

Also, once I have them, is there anything I will need to do to make them reliable? I've been searching high and low for information on these particular magazines but I haven't found much. I've read that standard capacity mags usually work fine in IDPA due to only being able to load them with 10 rounds. I'm concerned that the "10 round" mags that I buy may have issues as they will be fully loaded due to their designed capacity.

Any other advice on this new gun is also appreciated. Its my first 2011 and I don't know anyone personally that has one that I can talk to about issues or things needed to make these guns run as reliable as my Glocks. Thanks everyone and sorry for the long winded post...

Edited by lksyotas