Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Mental quicksand

reichebrown

I have been preparing for a local sanctioned IDPA for the last two months. Last night my M&P pro started to have FTEs again. (it has been back to smith 3+ times for this problem) In local matches I have been shooting better than I have ever been before. I have been ding a lot of reading around here and approaching shooting very differently from a mental standpoint. My accuracy is up, I am visualizing and planning my stages, and I have been placing in the top 5 regularly with a handful of overall wins. The one thing I did not expect was mechanical problems with my gun.

I was watching a movie recently where they describe a "quicksand moment." Basically you make one mistake and try to put it out of your mind. You make another shrug it off but another mistake happens and then you try to prevent more mistakes. This effort forces more mistakes and you end up feeling like you are frozen in quicksand. I was shooting at a local USPSA match last night and had this happen to me while fighting with the M&P FTE problem. (I am not searching for a solution to my FTEs) To recover durring a stage I had to actually stop and pause and make a decision to finish the tage like I knew I could. I finished the second half with all "A's."

My question is what can I do mentally to overcome my fear of my gun not running the way it should?

I've been in your boat before when I was new to the Tanfoglio platform in .40 and didn't know that old style magazine feedlips measurement was critical to reliable feeding. I would spend mental energy worrying about when will the next jam happen.