Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Limited Budget, Limited Gun

Cheytac

Ok, so I am on a limited budget and wanting to get into the USPSA Limited Division. Yes, I'd love to have a custom 2011 but my budget doesn't allow that.

So; G24, G35, M&P, XDm 5.25, or something else? Which would you prefer or use, and why? Comparisons would be great.

Thanks...

I ran a G22 for a bit until I recently picked up a built 2011.

My next step was to actually buy a LWD G24 slide with the top slot cut and run the 6in gun. I liked how cheap my glock mags are, ran arrendondo basepads (I'd do dawson or another alum instead of the plastic if I did it again). That mags seemed to drop a bit slow if they were empty or had less than 5 rounds.

My glock route was headed to: G24, tungsten guide rod, glocktriggers.com trigger kit, dawson heavy ice magwell, KKM or LWD barrel.

I have no experience with M&P or XD

but, if you have a limited budget, why not shoot production?

If Glocks fit your hands, a G35 tuned up a bit will do nicely (says the guy who does not like them). I love working on them, don't like shooting them. Granted a limited gun can be 'grip enhanced' so it wouldn't be so bad.

M&P's have a much better trigger and (for me) better ergo's. Comparing a tuned M&P trigger with a tuned Glock trigger, both at 2#'s, the M&P is still better for me. Shorter reset, crisper break. Just start with an "L" or Pro.

Parts are plenty for both. Both cost about the same. Both would benefit from sights and trigger work. Both can be stippled to achieve a great grip. I would go M&P, add Tungsten guide rod with 13# spring, and sights first. Then add trigger job, stipple and magwell in that order.