Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Cost of reloading

Skulptor

Hey Guys,

Please forgive me but this really is a "newbee question:

What is the cost (not counting the price of the reloader) approximately per round for a 9mm?

This is probably not a question worth much of your time but I was curious. I am just getting into this shooting (and LOVE it) so I thought I'd look at the aspect of reloading as well. I'm told it may not be worth it (in a 9mm) when I can buy Winchester white box for $21 a hundred, or Federal for $20 a hundred at Wally World. That is still the cheapest I can find - bar none.

I'm going up to a gun show in Indy this weekend and thought I may as well go armed with what you all think as I know little. I will also be looking to try to find case prices for less $ than Wally World. But while I'm at it, I thought I'd look around for reloading prices and equiptment as well.

Oh, and what about a reloader?? Any suggestions?? "Good used" would even be fine if there is such a thing.

Thanx for your time!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Chaz

7.9 cents for Bayou Bullet 147g + 1.3 cents N330 3.8gr + 3 cents Winchester primer = 12.2 cents per load

(assumes using range brass and buying materials in bulk)

$12.20 per hundred

The big plus is a much better round developed for my gun. As far as equipment goes, I am a Dillon guy so that's what I recommend. Buy used if you can - you should have seen the rust-bucket basket-case 650 I bought before I sent it to Dillon for a rebuild. I basically got a new machine back!! Love the customer service and no BS warranty of Dillon.

7.9 cents for Bayou Bullet 147g + 1.3 cents N330 3.8gr + 3 cents Winchester primer = 12.2 cents per load

(assumes using range brass and buying materials in bulk)

$12.20 per hundred