Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Duke Med Center

Rufus The Bum

I hate it when Doctors kill a little girl because of their incompetence.  An entire team of Doctors, at the most prestigious medical center in the country, doesn't even bother to verify the correct blood type.  This little girls family sacrificed EVERYTHING, payed a smuggler to bring her to the United States, only to be killed by someones incomepetence.  I hope those people can live with what they've done.  Man this pisses me off to no end.  

Rufus,

While it is true that the Doctor(s) is/are ultimately responsible for the tragedy that occurred at Duke, it is unreasonable to expect the Doctor(s) to double check everyone's work 24 hours a day.  Your lack of insight directs your hatred towards the wrong people.

I am not a Doctor but I play one on TV.....

Personally I do not, and would not rely on someone else for my final work product.  In other words if I am responsible for a project I would double check even the simplest of things to be sure of the outcome.

Did you know that airline pilots run through a check list, most of which is deminial, trivial things?  However it is for a purpose, if the oil presure were reading low when checked, althougth it is not the pilots job to change the oil, he would most likely stop the flight to prevent an inflight disaster.  Furthermore according to the FAA the pilot has the authority to ground the plane, and is ultimately repsonsible for the GO / NO GO descision for a flight.

I really do nto think Rufus was being hateful, he was acting frustrated at the fact that the Doctors did not perform even a cursory review of the facts before surgery.  Essentially the further up the management food chain you are the more responsible you are.  And in this case the Team of Doctors was ultimately responsible for the outcome of their actions.  

Her death is a terrible thing.

Never should have happened.