Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Scattergun for 3-Gun?

Hotchkiss

Which brand/model of shotgun would you recommend for 3-Gun competition? I am looking for good value -- the most bang for the buck (sorry.) I would prefer hearing your recommendations for both a pump action shotgun and a semi-automatic shotgun.

From what I have read so far it seems like the Remington 870 and the corresponding Mossberg 500/590 are at or near the front for pump guns? Similarly I rarely hear anything but Benellis mentioned when it comes to semi-automatics. I love a good bargain -- that gun that's way under priced and goes unnoticed by most. Thanks.

For pumps I think there are 3 choices... the two you mentioned and the Benelli Nova. I have personally used a Mossberg (Marine IIRC) and a Nova for one match each, and I prefer the Nova, but don't think there was a great deal of difference between the two. I have no experience with the 870, but I know a few guys that used them to start out with as that is what they owned at the time.

For Semis - I agree with 45shooter, bargain doesn't fit especially in 3 gun. Most people are running Benelli M2 or the FN SLP, neither are bargains but both are worth it from the feedback on the forum. the 930's are picking up steam with supporters on the forum, but the ported barrel puts you in open. So you either have to buy a non-ported barrel or get the ports covered.

I run an old 1100 that has needed a lot to get it up and running, and I am tired of it. So I now own a Benelli M1. I picked it up off gunbroker for a steal. I think most go for around $800.

What are you looking to spend?

nothing wrong talking with the match director of you local match and seeing if he can get you with a couple other local shooter that might let you shoot their guns so you can get a feel for the gun before buying.

Matt

I paid $650 for a like new M1 Benelli. I'd call that a bargain! :)