Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Looking to start reloading...... newb

G17fan

I am looking to start reloading my ammo for IPSC shooting. I know there are alot of different types out there. A few questions for a beginner on a budget:

Turret or single stage press....

Lee or RCBS or others....

Looking for the best "kit" to get me started.

Thanks.

Edited by G17fan

I have a Lee Classic turret press kit that I bought from Cabelas ($200.00 ish w/ out dies). I'm very happy with it and feel it's a good value. I load 9mm and 45acp so far and it makes great ammo with the carbide pistol 4 die sets.

I have a Lee Classic turret press kit that I bought from Cabelas ($200.00 ish w/ out dies). I'm very happy with it and feel it's a good value. I load 9mm and 45acp so far and it makes great ammo with the carbide pistol 4 die sets.

Does this kit have everything needed to load minus the dies?

Sorry for the questions, Im just new to this and want to get all the facts before I make a purchase.

Thanks.

Hard to beat a Dillon Square Deal for just a little more money. Progressive press really the way to go for making pistol ammo in moderate quantities.

Absolutely!

Watch the classifieds for a used unit. They can be had quite reasonably.

Does this kit have everything needed to load minus the dies?

Sorry for the questions, Im just new to this and want to get all the facts before I make a purchase.

Thanks.

Correct, it does. All you need to start less dies. Looks back-ordered on Cabelas site mad.gif. Best dollar value out there for a starter.

Here is a link to an excellent how to for reloading newbs. http://blog.sinclairintl.com/category/videos/reloading-videos/

Jim

post-11183-028305500 1295127983_thumb.jp

These are the things I PM'd you about. You could take this stuff, and some components, do a couple hours worth of reading, and start loading some stuff. It's a great hobby that has given me years of pleasure. :cheers: