Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Could this be the Holly Grail of Cartridge cleaning ?

Timg

First I am new to reloading, except for the Lee reloader I used when I was a kid. so read every post here practically, thanks for all the help guys. I chose the Dillion 650, cartridge feeder, etc.

stocked up on 10K of primers, brass and projectiles. Getting real sick of cleaning this brass and it was taking too long. corn cob, blah blah, got an ultrasonic unit, good one. tried all the recipes here there and everywhere. Poor results with everything.

Board this morning and trying to figure out how to clean the brass faster. Tried corn cob with Brasco, and many many other compounds. Nothing worked, well, worked fast enough.

This morning I took about everything out of my chemical cabinet. Carb cleaner, Weslyes Wheel white, Goof Off, you name it. Nothing was working. Then went back and grabbed things I knew were not going to work, that’s why I didn’t try them in the first place but figured what do I have to loose.

Sprayed samples of two cartridges with everything above.

Then in the next batch was Resolve Triple action carpet spot remover. Right before my eyes the cases got bright. Put two handfuls in a bowl and sprayed about 10 sprays on them and tossed them around. It was like magic. Rinsed and dried them and I was done. WOW.

So now I put 50/50 Resolve in the ultrasonic and put in 4 handfuls of shells on 5 minute cycle. Incredible in and out.

The pictures are as follows left to right:

Un-cleaned shell, corn cob for 5 hours, tossed in a bowl for 2 minutes with Resolve, ultrasonic 5 min. 50/50 Resolve and water.

The picture with the fifth shell shows discoloration on the shell. Get one of those out of every 100 or so. May be the Resolve reacting with oil or something on the shell.

Try it and see what you think. Am I losing my mind or is this really working?

post-25941-085578900 1283125322_thumb.jp

• Replies 65
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic