Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

What reloader is best for reloading 223 ammo?

Hi everybody..I tried doing a search in this forum for this particular question. But couldn't find anything. So since I am a newbie I thought I'd start right here. I have seen a Dillon RL 550B in action at my cousin's house. But he reloads ammo for his 45 cal. I also reloaded a few to get a feel of the machine. I really like the ease of it. I was wondering if anybody has had any experience with reloading 223 ammo on the Dillon 550? And if so would this be the machine to get for reloading 223 ammo.? Any info GREATLY appreciated. Thanks from the new kid on the block..

Edited by mailman206

I think the 650 is more popular with most. But I did load on a 550 several years ago for 308 and got sub MOA groups.

I load 223 on a 650 now and get sub MOA groups and i know first hand of six other setups that do the same

spend the extra cash for a 650 if you can swing it , but the 550 is good too just a bit more fuss setting the cases in.

Thanks AlamoShooter your info is greatly appreciated. I'm looking around the forums reading other post on Dillon's. You say the 550 will work but is a fuss setting the cases in. Why is that? And what is the difference with the 650 in setting the cases that the 550 is more of a fuss?

I use a 650 for all my reloading and much prefer it to the 550 I used to own. The recently available option of a casefeeder for the 550 makes it a more capable machine than it used to be, but the added step of having to manually rotate the 550 shell tray still adds time to the operation compared to the 650.

I also use a dedicated 650 toolhead for case prep - Station 1 (deprime / resize with RCBC Small Base X-Die), Station 4 (Dillon Electric Trimmer) - and can crank out close to 800 cases an hour without trying too hard. I've found the actual reloading of rifle ammo isn't nearly as big a PITA as the case prep - and the 650 makes case prep pretty easy.