Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Cd/dvd Prices

Patrick Sweeney

Inspired by the comments of Kate Beckinsales leather-clad posterior, I decided I'd see if the "Underworld" DVD was at the local "bigbarn digital crapola store."

$36? And the non on sale regular prices were $27-$29? Don't they know you can buy blank DVD's in bulk for a buck each? And they wonder why there is so much piracy?

So I decide I'll see what's new in music. Huh? Twelve to fifteen bucks for music? When I might like just one or two tracks?

If McDonalds had the same pricing structure, a burger that you could buy the ingredients for for .59$, would be a burger they'd charge a cool $20 for. A happy meal would be $40-50. Would McD wonder why we all stayed home and cooked our own?

As a writer and photographer I'm very aware and interested in the protection of intellectual property rights. But how much of that $20-30 for the disk goes to the artist?

What is the deal with these people?

patrick,

here in memphis, tn., the target stores for the first week a new move comes out on dvd, they put it on sale for around $14.50. after the week it goes up to around $18-19. the new cowboy dvd by kevin costner is out this week i plan to vist target this week.

lynn

And they wonder why there is so much piracy?

When I might like just one or two tracks?

What is the deal with these people?

Bling Bling

If these were gun people the would have a mini gun for each day of the week. Each artist has a different cut but ya gotta understand that Bentleys are real expensive. Especially when you have 3 totally custom ones, etc. B):D

My solution:

Pre-viewed DVDs at blockbuster. Got Matrix Reloaded for $9.99

The $10 bin at Wal Mart, with DVDs $10.00, or $14.99

Amazon.com, where my wife bought "The Wizard of Oz" for $7.50 delivered, which worked fine, despite the Chinese characters on the outside of the package.

As far as music...haven't bought a CD in awhile. Way too pricey. Just burn copies from friends.

DogmaDog