Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Ammo for USPSA shooting

Im very new to the comformed shooting aspect of USPSA/IDPA so i was wondering how does a very NEW beginner like myself get ammo for matches?Do i break the bank and try to stock pile bulk ammo(gun shows) or do i break the bank and take up reloading?The range my matches are held at they had a brick(1000rds)of .40s&w ammo for $379.99,but one of the board members does reloads and can reload me 1000rds for $250.

Walmart is pretty cheap for ammo.

I use Win 9MM white box it makes minor, I don't know about .40 making major.

Reloading is the way to go, the sooner you start, the sooner you start saving $$$

I started with a Dillon Square deal, one caliber ready to load, just needed a scale, dial caliper, eventually I got a tumbler to clean brass, (you can borrow until ready). Save your brass, get some primers , powder & bullets....and a friend to show you the ropes............

Edited by revomodel10

Until you get set up to reload check out Atlanta Arms and Georgia Arms. Both offer reloaded ammo for better prices than you'll get at the ChiCom, er Wal-Mart. Atlanta Arms, in particular, reloads ammo tailored for our game and supports our sport.

Until you get set up to reload check out Atlanta Arms and Georgia Arms. Both offer reloaded ammo for better prices than you'll get at the ChiCom, er Wal-Mart. Atlanta Arms, in particular, reloads ammo tailored for our game and supports our sport.

thanks to all for the great info i already have my order in for 500 rds from georgia arms !!!

Im very new to the comformed shooting aspect of USPSA/IDPA so i was wondering how does a very NEW beginner like myself get ammo for matches?Do i break the bank and try to stock pile bulk ammo(gun shows) or do i break the bank and take up reloading?The range my matches are held at they had a brick(1000rds)of .40s&w ammo for $379.99,but one of the board members does reloads and can reload me 1000rds for $250.