Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Modified Mag Followers

STIGUY

I am needing to add to my gear some new mags and I have noticed that some vendors have "modified mag followers" that don't lock the slide back when empty. Two questions as I am new to any sort of "formal" competition. Is there times where this would not be acceptable in which the rules states that you must should to slide lock? Secondly, if not and I have read on another post that the "pros" count their shots so that they know when they need to reload rather than when the slide locks back. That is they know the gun is mag and chamber is empty rather than the slide locking back indicatinf this is the case. I don't want to result to that as there are probably alot of things going on through a stage without having to worry about that. Your thoughts, comments and/or suggestions are as always Greatly Appreciated!

THANKS!

Hello: For IDPA the slide should lock back when empty. In USPSA I don't want my slide to lock back. Hope this helps. Thanks, Eric

Thanks....I should have been more specific...USPSA. So I guessing there is really no need for any of my mags to lock the slide back in USPSA.....

In USPSA I don't want my slide to lock back. Hope this helps. Thanks, Eric

Actually, it's not so much that people don't want their slide to lock back in USPSA, as they're willing to trade no lock-back at all for no premature lock-back, yes? I've seen shooters, who've lost count of how many rounds they've fired, rack out a round after a reload.

What division and what kind of gun? All of my guns lock back except for my Open guns. I've never had a premature lock back, but I've seen a LOT of people hear click when they expect bang and then have to do an unplanned reload. About half of the time they forget to rack the slide after the unplanned reload, so that really adds to the fun for the peanut gallery.