Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

dry firing

How valid is "dry-firing" with a dime on the front sight???

I have been working on this and it really seems to help my "live firing"

This helps my trigger control.

Does anybody else do this???

Love this new forum, and the fact that we can all learn from the "sage" himself--

Yes, this is one of the drills I do most often.  I don't know about everyone else, but I do the drill all double action. My best right now is 20x strong hand, 7x weak.  Compared to some, that might not be much, but I am a newbie when it comes to pistolcraft.

I think the dime thing is a good idea, I used to do it quite a bit, long ago. My only caution is: once you have the fundamentals down on how to release the shot WITH THE GUN EMPTY, don't fall into the trap of thinking that by continuing to practice the same thing you will continue improving your ACTUAL SHOOTING. Further, shooting slowfire groups offhand at 25 or 50 yards is great practice (I do it all the time), but better still (later in your training), impose a reasonable time limit, and learn to shoot those same groups. And then, apply that to high-speed match shooting, calling your shots with precision at warp drive. It's fun stuff.

Brian