Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Gun Debate

BigH

I am a newbie shooter. I purchased a Ruger Mark III and have been going crazy shooting round through it. I have also been renting and borrowing every larger caliber hand gun I can get my hands on. I am fairly certain this gun will be a .9mm as the .40 is too much for me right now.

I am really having a hard time deciding what gun to get. I am definitely ruling out Glocks as they are not comfortable in my hand and seem to recoil more than any other gun I tried. I am not putting them down as they rate very high-it is a personal preference.

We can rule out pistols suited for carry as this is not an option I need. I am looking for target shooting with the potential to move into USPSA and lastly home defense. So a longer barrel is preferable.

My first question is-is there any advantage in going with a polymer like and HK USP or S&W M&P vs A Browning HP, CZ, or Sig Elite. I fell in love with the Sig Elite but we are talking about $1150. I would consider it but would need to hear feedback telling me that it is a tack driver and everyone cant live without it. The Browning has a great reputation amoung guys at my range.

I seem to love the feel of the heavier gun and shoot better as the recoil is less. Price is the obvious issue.

Opinions and advice is appreciated.

See if you can rent some different guns from the store and see what you like. Everyone is different and like different guns for different reasons. With that being said I would buy the S&W M&P 9L or a Pro in 9mm :) I have one and it really shoots well for me.

Tom

I know what you mean about Glocks not feeling quite right....they don't fit my hand well, beat up my knuckles and point high for me. Makes me wonder why I have five of them :wacko: