Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Hi everyone, newbie here.

I am not new to reloading or guns, but I do not know the answer to this question. I`m sure there are a bunch of Dillon geniouses (sp) out there that know what is causing this. I would like to know what is making it hard to push the handle back up on the upstroke. I do know the resistance is from the #2 station on the belling operation. I am loading with brand new Starline .45 brass. It is not hard on every case. But on most cases. I really have to push up hard. Sometimes it makes the primers flip over if I don`t watch it. Anyone ever experience this?

Do you think it is because of new brass? If I remember correctly I don`t think it mattered whether the brass was new or not.

AzShooter, sorry I`m not sure what bar you are referring to. If you mean to lube a bar on the press, I know it is not anything on the press. The press operates very easily and smooth. It is resistance from the belling and powder die. I think it is the powder funnel going inside the case and getting hard to pull back out. Sometimes I have to use pretty good force to pull it back out.

I am not new to reloading or guns, but I do not know the answer to this question. I`m sure there are a bunch of Dillon geniouses (sp) out there that know what is causing this. I would like to know what is making it hard to push the handle back up on the upstroke. I do know the resistance is from the #2 station on the belling operation. I am loading with brand new Starline .45 brass. It is not hard on every case. But on most cases. I really have to push up hard. Sometimes it makes the primers flip over if I don`t watch it. Anyone ever experience this?

Do you think it is because of new brass? If I remember correctly I don`t think it mattered whether the brass was new or not.[/size]

It's most likely because its new brass.

Try it with once fired brass and you probably won't have any problems.