Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Revolver Problems

sniperdog

I am new to the round gun and have shot semi-autos for 30 years but am having major problems with the round gun. I have a 4" 625 and am shooting Montana Gold 200 grain JFP with VV N320 powder. After about 12 rounds I have so much unburned powder in the chambers and under the star that the cylinder will not close. It got so bad today I was using a brush during a stage to clean under the star so that I could close the cylinder. I use this same load in my single stack and is runs clean with no powder buildup, is it the wrong powder for a revolver or is it something else. Any ideas or help will be greatly appreciated.

I had the same problem w/ HS6. I tried more powder, less powder, more crimp, less crimp, well you get the idea and none of it helped. Finally I switched to Trail Boss and the problem went away completely. I have also tried WST with excellent results.

-Larry

+4 on the Clays....

On the reloading forum here you can find lots of recommendations for Clays in 45ACP.

The popular number seems to be 4.0 grains of Clays pushing your favorite 230gr round nose.

I put 50 rounds today through my 625 after the main match and it pretty much cleans up with a pull through bore snake.

Edited by Taildraggerdave

Just about everyone shooting .45 ACP revolvers uses 230 grain RNs, either lead, jacketed or plated. The heavier bullet seems to help the powder burn more completely.

I don't know - as in, I have no idea - whether Clays will be able to make the PF using published data with a 200 grain jacketed bullet. You'd have to try it out in your gun. It appears that most shooters have to slightly exceed the book max (4 grains) to make major with jacketed 230s.