Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

My First Open Gun

Jeff686

post-985-1199915031.jpg post-985-1199915009.jpg

My first open gun arrived today. I thought I’d share a few of the details with everyone. Please keep in mind that I’m VERY NEW to open guns.

For the last several years, I’ve been shooting an ‘economy’ 1911 in L-10. I recently made B-Class, but was frequently winning at many of the local matches in my division. It seems that with the advent of Single Stack, there are not that many people in L-10 where I live. I considered getting a Limited gun, but that seemed like a lot of money just to get bigger mags. If figured I might as well go all the way to the dark side, and buy and open gun.

I was planning on buying a new 9mm Gold Team, but when presented with a great offer from one of the members online, I had to take him up on it. It is a slightly used 38 SC with a black C-More. It came with 2.5K of Armscor brass, a case, springs, and several magazines, including a big-stick, all tuned and ready to run. It also has all the EGW/Henning trigger work.

RELOADING:

Everything but the actual gun arrived last week, shipped directly to me. I had also just received new 38SC dies for my Dillon Square Deal, and bought some powder and bullets locally. In anticipation of the arrival of my new gun, I loaded up a hundred rounds of copper plated 124gr RN Ranier bullets with 6.9gr of IMR7625 and WSR primers. I knew this would be minor, but thought it was a safe place to start. I know, some of you may cringe at the plated bullets, and you might be right. I didn’t have many choices locally. We'll see how they work.