Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Does switching platforms hurt your scores?

bp78

Does switching between platforms really hurt you?

I have an itch to get a USPSA Production / IDPA SSP gun but I'm concerned that switching back & forth from the 1911 platform will slow me down. I'd appreciate some advice on what the folks here think about switching or what guns are better suited for a 1911 shooter. I know the Glock trigger and grip angle are a pretty big change from the 1911 as is the DA first shot of an SP01.

I've been shooting IDPA matches regularly (~4 month) for about two years now and have started shooting more IPSC matches. The 9mm STI Trojan I shoot is a gamey IDPA ESP gun but the minor scoring is really starting to sting at the USPSA matches. I'll probably buy a .40 single stack before long but still want a Prod/SSP gun for matches where the Single Stack turn-out is low. A match this weekend saw 15 production shooters but only 4 of us in single stack. I like the DA/SA trigger on the SP01 but I haven't seen a clear thread on it's legal standing in IDPA SSP. A glock is readily availble with mags, holsters, and sights but the grip and trigger concern me more about switching regularly.

Edited by bp78

ever thought about an M&P? :) i don't shoot my production/ssp/esp g34 much (only classifiers) but a m&p my friend shoots and feels pretty good, trigger wise.

The only switching i do is when there's a classifier at our match. I'll shoot the match with one gun (open) and shoot the classifer with a single stack (kimber 45), revolver (S&W 625) and production gun (G34) along with the open (SVI 9mm major). Switching between the open, ss and production gun isn't too bad but when it comes to the revolver, MAN i suck!!

Edited by yoshidaex

I really believe that if you are going to compete in multiple divisions, you need to keep the same firearms platform if possible.

Staying with a gun that has the same weight, balance, grip angle etc. should be a definate advantage.