Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Holster Question?

jeffscaspian

Hello,

I am new to this wheel gun thing and I am having problems finding a holster. I have everything I need to start shooting except the holster. I have a 5" S&W 625 in 45acp. I am looking for a descent starter holster. If someone can point me in the right direction or has one for sale, I would appreciate it.

Thanks,

Jeff

Hello,

if you are talking about an Ipsc holster, for revos the best are H&S and CRspeed .... i use an H&S, because it's smaller very compact design, works well for me.

A lot of Us revo-shooters use the CRspeed, but i never had one to try .... and i can't give to you my personal opinion about this holster.

Jeff,

It comes down to what you are willing to spend. I have a CR speed holster, I think it cost upwards of 190 bucks. You can use it in ICORE and IPSC, but NOT IPDA. It is strictly a competition rig. It is VERY fast.

You can get a BladeTech holster that can be used for all three, probably about 80 dollars, I have one of those also. It works very well.

If cost is an issue, you can get a Bianchi accumold cruiser holster. be careful of your belt selection on this, I think the max is a 2 inch belt for the N frame model. It is a thumbsnap duty style holster, but is not a bad way to go to start, with practice, you will be almost as fast as the blade tech, I think you can get them for about 29 dollars. I know in IDPA, if you have a thumbsnap, you must use it.

If you can find a belt slide/yaqui style, it would be a very good alternative.

Edited by fdkay

Best is to find a holster for USPSA as the 5" gun can not be used in IDPA any way.

Blade Tech makes a holster that runs about $70 that is OK as a starter holster. I believe Kenny at Speed Shooter's specialties has them. then a belt and moon clip holders

CR SPEED will run $179 from Shooter's Connection. Plus a belt for another $55 (Prices from web site today) Then the moon clip holders.