Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

C-more & Rainx ?

AlamoShooter

<_< I was wipeing my new C-More lenz off for the fith time in practice. = It has a smoke haze on it from the blast even with a blast shield.

SO my brain starts to ask me why not put RainX on it first to make it wipe off better.

The stuff works great on my truck windows, but my C-More is not getting Bugs on it just smoke.

What is the "glass" in a C-More? Is it glass? Is/are there any coatings on it? I ask because I've been in the optical industry (read... I make eyeglass lenses for a living) for a while and some coatings and types of material are VERY chemical sensitive. I'd contact the manufacture and ask them.

We were told they recommended to NOT use Rain-X, FWIW.

It probably is fine, and lots of folks do it all the time, so probably no harm/no foul, but that was the company word. YMMV.

-Mike

I do not think there is anything in RAIN-X to hurt the lens coating.

It comes in a plastic bottle.

FM

You can keep acetone in a plastic bottle too.... Just don't get it on Lexan (plastic). I'm not trying to be a smart-azz here, just don't want to see someone destroy a fairly expensive piece of optical equipment. Trust me..... You can take the coatings off lenses with things like Windex before you know what happened. I've actually had people bring things like microscope lenses in to see if we could send them out to stripped and recoated because they've used Windex, 409, etc to clean them and ruined them. :( Multi-layer coatings on rifle scope lenses are another lens you want to keep those types of cleaner away from. The anti-reflective coatings on them (to eliminate internal light reflection) are quite fragile. You don't ever want to to wipe them with a paper towel, tissue, TP... Stick to 100% cotton (clean) cloth and a pH neutral cleaner. They'll last much longer.