Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Newbie Question Regarding Getting Started In Uspsa With A Glock

big_kahuna

Newbie question regarding getting started in USPSA with a Glock

Long time lurker, but have only posted a couple of comments on these boards. I have been reading and searching these boards for weeks, utterly fascinated. Finally, I think I know enough to ask something...

My background:

I am just getting started in USPSA, and have decided to get started with a Glock 35 for Limited/L-10. Although I am a newb to USPSA/IPSC, I have been shooting and handloading since 1982. I am a former Marine (Rifle Expert, Pistol Expert, Shooting Coach, yada yada yada) and a graduate of the Front Sight 4-day tactical handgun course. I have owned and enjoyed many different types of handguns (revolvers, 1911s, Glocks, Berettas, Smiths, etc.). Imagine my surprise when I went to my first USPSA match, and all the experienced shooters were using different gear and techniques than I was used to. I decided to open my mind and learn from any source available... absorb what is useful and file the rest... and try to enjoy the journey and experience as much as possible. I have Brian's and Steve Anderson's books... have spent hours on the Matt Burkett website using the dry practice drills. I really want to get better and get competitive.

My Question:

Given a budget of about 500 to 700 bucks, what additional gear (if any) would you recommend for me to get a decent start in USPSA Limited/L-10? I am cost-conscious (read that as CHEAP) and have a limited budget subject to approval by the tyrannical household CFO (my lovely wife). I already have the following:

 Glock 35

 KKM Precision drop in barrel

 grip tape on frame

 brass magwell

 4 standard capacity magazines

 6 10-round magazines

 Bladetech DOH holster

 mixed mag pouches (one Uncle Mike's kydex double pouch, one Fobus paddle double pouch, and two Pearce kydex single pouches)