Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Harley Davidson

Kimberkid

I have an 06 Roadking. I love this bike and have enjoyed it at every oppertunity. The handlebars have grown loose and now can be pushed up or down at will with little effort. Of course, the bolts that control the tension are hidden inside the headlight nacelle and you must remove the nacelle and the fork lock to get to them. I am not a mechanic, and this is the very reason I bought an extended warranty, so I call 2 local dealerships about getting it fixed. Guess what.... they are gonna charge me. $55 for 1 hour labor to tighten the handlebars. One guy claims that they werent put on right at set up (11 months ago) and that if I want it done under warranty that I have to take it back to the place I bought it. I bought it at a dealership over an hour away and dont feel like going back just to get something this stupid fixed.

In review, you can spend over $20K on a toy, plus the best warranty they offer, and still get boned any time you need anything. This will be the last Harley I ever buy and never again will I have even an iota of guilt for not "buying american".

I will probably vomit next time I hear some BS about Harley brotherhood or brand loyalty.

I tried emailing Harley to complain, but the customer service dept. doesnt accept email. I tried calling but you never get to talk to a person, and they dont have any phone options even close to one that allows you to voice your concerns.

The days of a big corporation standing behind their product have passed.

Shoulda never sold my Yamaha.

• Replies 72
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

BTW, the story about returning to the original selling dealer for warranty work is BS. Dealers agree to warranty work regardless of where the bike was purchased. Do what you can to get ahold of someone at HD coporate and they will get the dealers straightened out. (maybe)