Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

DQ-proofing yourself

JoeInTucson

So I work in engineering and one thing we do is design equipment to be screw-up proof to the extent we can. So I started shooting matches and listening to the warnings at the beginning of the match. My parents had taught me to be extremely muzzle aware so that in and of itself would never be a problem, however you can get in trouble for other stuff. So I also watched others. Initially I was using a HK P30 and a cheap holster. The P30 had an external safety and I saw others getting in trouble over forgetting to turn it on when they abandoned the pistol. So I figured it was a matter of time before it happened to me so I switched to striker fired. And it gave me an opportunity for a G34.5 MOS I had been wanting. So I upgraded the holster to a Safariland with a USPSA kit and kicked the muzzle forward about 10 degrees. It forces me to pull the pistol with the muzzle forward, because I saw others get in trouble for that too. I have heard of people getting sent home for tripping, so I got some new boots with ultra grippy soles.

I was once on this one stage that was very poorly designed, so I asked the RO how to legally shoot a certain target. He said, "You must stand exactly there". So actually asking a question when they ask "Do you understand the course of fire?" prevented a dq.

So aside from muzzle awareness, which is so important, what do you do to actually prevent a dq in the first place? 

What game do you want to shoot? read the rules

1 Putting safety on will become second nature with enough practice/experience.

2 You do not have to cant a holster to legally draw or reholster. USPSA for instance gives you a 3' circle.

3. Unless you are a total clutz or shooting in wingtips the concern over tripping can't really be fixed by a particular shoe.