Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

929 Fiber Optic Front Sight?

erwos

Sorry, I'm a revolver newbie and this is a little embarrassing. I have a S&W 929. Shoots quite nicely, but I'd like a fiber optic front sight. I can live with the rear sight for the moment. Does someone make a drop-in replacement fiber optic front sight at the same height as the factory front sight? Thanks!

Yes, Dawson, SDM come to mind.  Get the "Pinned" model, the "Classic/DX" FS is for the removable without tools FS of the 627's.  Don't quite understand why they went with the pinned FS though.

You can get thinner, wider, taller, shorter too.  Measure the existing FS though if you want the exact same thing.

Drive out the roll pin and replace.  Recommend a Roll Pin Punch though.

Edited by pskys2

1 hour ago, erwos said:

Thanks, gents. If I wanted to replace the rear sight, how difficult is that?

The rear blade comes in different heights. I use a .196.

Cheap, like 10 bucks. Midway sells the whole kit. You need a blade, screw, nut, pin and spring. Lots of videos on how to do it.