Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

universal decapping on an xl750, processing, over processing, or just obsessing

I'm new to this game and while we all wait for primers to become available, I'm trying to get as many cycles thru my new xl750 without over working my brass (plus I think it a good practice to decap prior to tumbling/cleaning).  Previously I've been decapping 9mm brass with a pin punch chucked into my drill press, but that method doesn't work too well with 223 cartridges, so I picked up a Lyman Universal Decapping Die.

What I've been troubleshooting is that about 3% of my recent range pickup aren't decapping ... What I'm starting to think is happening is that the anvil in the primer is binding up on the tip of the pin and pulling the primer back into the cartridge and being re-seated back into the cartridge.  As I mentioned I'm new to all this and the xl750 is brand new ... I need to get a feel for all of it's nuances.  The decapping pin extends quite far out the base of the die, the die is adjusted to just touch the shell plate, and I being obsessive not to short stroke the press, and press forward fully as if to seat non-existent primers (although I guess I'm reseating a few ...). The not_decapped cartridge is one of a couple that hung up the press between stage 1 and 2.  I know setting up a single stage for brass prep is probably a better use of the Dillon's cycles, but hey it what I've got ... am I over processing of simply obsessing?

Thanks for letting me vent ...

lyman_u-die.jpg

not_decapped.jpg

24 minutes ago, Guy Neill said:

Pulling the primer back into the pocket is a known situation.

Usually, rounding the decapping pin tip slightly can eliminate, or at least minimize, the problem.

Indeed. Do a search for primer suck back or primer sticking to decapping pin and several threads should pop up.