Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Buffer Testing

I'm still new to the PCC thing, but I'm trying to test out some buffers. Below are two targets shot at 20 yards doing doubles. Splits probably averaged .18's I loaded the mags to 10 rounds shot 5 pairs, reloaded shot 5 more. The switched buffers and repeated. I did this twice, this is the second set of targets. 

The target labeled T I felt the recoil was harsher and the dot seemed to move more. I did have one .16 split with this buffer. And it seems this buffer shortened the stroke a little more. Buffer S seems better subjectively. But the hits are what I think should matter and they're vary similar. I'm leaning toward the S buffer at this point.

Next I'm thinking I should change the bumper in S to shorten the stroke a little more like the T and repeat the test. Then maybe switch to some Bill drills to see if the any differences seem more obvious. 

Does this seem like I'm on the right track? Or am I wasting my time and should just go with either one of them?

S target.jpg

T target.jpg

Yeah, that's why I started thinking I should try bill drills instead to see if I can force issues to pop up. Or maybe I need to try to force myself to run faster splits in a attempt to make the group open up doing doubles. 

Or I'm just wasting my time, pick one and move on. 

You have to tune more than your buffer to your load.  Spring, weight and short stroke all need to be adjusted to get no, or minimal dot bounce.  I'm there now with two loads, but it took a lot of experimenting to get there.  Set up for my 147 JHP, 145PF load I could put 10 rounds into a 2" circle at 25 yards as fast as I could pull the trigger.  I don't use that load any more because I'm out of 147s.

My sub-100PF load with 124s is what I use for steel challenge.  Minimal dot bounce with a different setup.  I'm now in the process of developing a 132PF 124 load for falling steel matches.

There are many variables: