Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

gsteve, matt distributor, help diagnose my revo mental illness (with pictures)

ysrracer

A little background, I'm a 61 year old geezer that's had cataract surgery in both eyes. I started shooting USPSA in the late 80s /early 90s (SA P9) in Phoenix. I shot Rio and Cactus. (I even knew Dan "it's a double" Nigro).

I attained the rank of Grand C Class  :)But really haven't shot much pistol in the last 25 years.

At the beginning of this year my buddies in Phoenix convinced me to buy a S&W 627 PC, and get it race gunner-ized.

The Arizona Revolver Championship at Phoenix Rod and Gun Club is in a few weeks, so I thought now would be a good time to practice.

I set-up four tombstone targets at a measured 15 yards, and went at it. I even bought a timer to practice with.

I would draw, put two on the first target, two on the second target, two on the third target, and two on the fourth target.

I can't really double tap a revo at 15 yards, but I'm going as quickly as I can.

My problem is the first target looks like ****, the second target looks a little better, the third target looks even better, and the fourth target brings home the gold.

All the same speed, all the same sight picture.

Thoughts?

Target 1

IMG_20190924_140504076.jpg

You’re pushing a lot low left especially T1 and T2. Do you generally get excited when the timer first goes off? If so, maybe you’re pushing the gun before it’s going off on the draw? By the time you’re on T3 and T4 you’re going back to a better trigger press and not pushing the gun around.
Just my two cents, there’s plenty here that would know better than me though, so I would wait for others before taking that as gospel

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

You'd find more of us revolver shooters in the revo forum, but I'll help.

Many folks get the sight picture they want and try to make the gun go bang before it moves. It's a revolver, the sights will move while you pull the trigger.