Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Getting under 100 in Prod

rowdyb

So I've been shooting all 8 sc stages in one go, every day for the past 5 days. I'm always right around 109 to 115 total.

With only a draw and transitions to shave time, barring outer limits, it seems like taking 10 seconds off is going to be a huge ask.....

Anyone here shoot Prod and gotten it dialed? I've only live fired the stages, no dry fire. And oh btw steel nats is next week.

That’s about 1/3 second per string in a week....   ouch.  

I’m not a production shooter (I’m training on irons now and starting my Single Stack Regime soon) but....   How’s your reaction time to the beep?  Most folks can gain a tenth or two (or three) by sharpening their reaction tiime by nailing the beep.  Tighten up your draw speed while practicing that and maaaaaaayyyyyyybbbbbbbeeeeeee......

Edited by jkrispies

10 seconds is a lot of time to shave but if you break it down a little bit I think it’s doable.

Look at it this way. 10 seconds split between 8 stages is 1.25 seconds per stage. 1.25 seconds between 4 strings (that count) is about .31 seconds per string. For me a string with a clean draw, fast transitions and no misses can easily be .31 seconds faster than a normal string. The kicker is doing that for an entire match :)

Here’s how I’ll practice my reaction time out of the holster.... theoretically at this point...   A typical beep is about .35 seconds.  I expect to have a good grip on the gun before the beep is complete, so to practice with a “hearable par” I need to do more than just a grab, but I hate to do a full draw if all I’m practicing is reaction time.  Play with a par to see where you’re at drawing the gun out of the holster but only getting a proper support hand grip before pushing it out.  If there’s a discernible gap between the two beeps, make that your par and practice the crap out of it.  

With a perfect grab, that is. ?

Edited by jkrispies