Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

40 major chrono session, input please w231

jtrump

So I got to the range today to chrono some loads, This is my first time loading .40cal, Previously I loaded .45 using hp38 and w231 on hand so that's what I went with.

Gun- STI DVC Limited

Bullet-Bayou 180g

Winchester SPP

mixed once fired brass- Full length re-sized in G-Rex

w231

1.180 OAL

4.4G

AVERAGE: 871 fps

4.6G

AVERAGE: 900 fps

4.8G

AVERAGE: 932 fps 167.7 PF if I drop the low 912 and the high 957

I Live in Florida, and generally it is hot here, today it was 50 degrees when we ran the loads, I had kept them inside my house all night and in my gun box sitting on the dashboard of my truck in the sun before pulling them out and running them, I have heard W231 is Temp sensitive. Do these look about right to you guys? I'm debating trying out a different powder, my smith who did the Chrono, said that the w231 felt a bit more stout then his 170g "lead" over Universal Clays did, and we made the exact same PF, he was shooting his loads through an STI EDGE.

Now I want to run off and load a bunch of rounds but I'm not sure that's the best option at this point, I don't want to go load 2k rounds that are going to be running 980FPS when it's 70 degrees outside, so I come here for advice :)

Edited by jtrump

Those speeds seem maybe a little fast to me. I load plated 180 gn RNFPs to 1.135" COAL shot out of a 4.75" Tanfoglio Match and am getting the following speeds:

4.1 gn - 740 fps

4.4 gn - 825 fps

4.7 gn - 858 fps

5.0 gn - 910 fps

Now I recognize that Bayou coated are supposed to run faster than plated but you also loaded longer than me so your pressures should be lower. You are hitting about 50 fps faster than me on all loads. I'm not sure what difference the longer loading makes in the speed and would appreciate someone educating us on that.