Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Load & Make Ready

Abman

I have my own story of embarssing moments. I was giving my Gold Cup a through cleaning in my early days in IPSC (1991) and put her back together, cycle checked it, dropped the hammer, etc. all was well.

I was called to the line and instructed to 'Load & Make Ready' :huh: , I drew my GC, got a hold of a mag :blink: , and tried to insert it, :lol: , only took me 30 seconds to figure out I put the mag well on backwards B) (one of those with rabbit ears.

Needless to say, if I do a detailed strip, I fire the gun before showing up at a match.

At the Fla Open this year the RO gave me the LAMR command. I proceeded to load and the slide wouldn't close. I diddled with it a minute and dropped that mag, grabbing another and told the RO that my gun must not like that magazine. Well the next one wouldn't allow the slide to close either and about that time the firing pin hit me in the middle of the chest.

Apparently, the firing pin had gotten dirty (what!, my gun needing cleaning?) and stuck in the forward position allowing the firing pin stop to fall free. The firing pin had prevented the round from stripping away from the mag keeping the slide from moving forward.

I gathered up my parts and the RO let me go put my gun back together at the safety table dropping me to the end of the firing order. Needless to say I cleaned the the firing pin chamber well with a Q.tip and breakfree.

I still have a small round oil mark from the firing pin on that shirt. <_< Kinda like a reminder to clean my gun :lol:

That's my story and I'm sticking to it :D

dj

• 3 weeks later...