Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Question about CZ for competition for new guy

Supranatural

Okay I started shooting this year again after many years away (first started shooting in College but wandered away as I pursued other interests after college). Long story short I got back into firearms with the intention of home protection (post Hurricane Sandy and seeing how other disasters played out such as Katrina) but soon found I enjoyed it, moreso than when I was in college. I first got an AR, then a Ruger 10/22, then a Sig Sauer P229, then another P229 (so I could have a home defense pistol with a practice gun of the same manual of arms), then I got my CCW and a H&K P2000SK as my carry pistol. I've been thinking of competing soon and looked into what pistol to get next. Originally was going to get something like an H&K VP9 or USP 9mm Expert but then realized that since I already had 3 guns intended as defensive pistols why handicap myself to Sig Sauer and H&K if there were possibly better alternatives out there. So I went on these forums and started reading and right now I've narrowed my choices down to CZ and Tanfoglio. I am lookking to start with IPSC (because they run at my range all the time) Production class so I want a pistol that is legal for that. With CZ I'm looking at the CZ75 SP-O1 Shadow and it appears that it is legal, however every one I find on Gunbroker looks like it has had some "tuning" from CZ's Custom shop. My question is what kind of tuning is permitted? It seems that the production division is pretty restricted, so would something like the "CZ Tuning 101 with Professor Atlas" thread be permitted or prohibited? Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Sorry if my questions seem overly simplistic, I'm a new guy looking to learn and get better.

Edited by Supranatural