Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Help Selecting a Pistol

Saleen43

I'm new to sport shooting with pistols (I've always been a hunter and shotgun shooter) and want to start shooting pistols more, and probably get into IPSC and I've always liked the 1911 series and the open class also appeals to me. What is a good 1911 pistol that many aftermarket mods can be added to (like scope, compensator, etc.) that is relatively inexpensive (not like the $1000-$2000 guns)? Also, where can you get it and the aftermarket parts for it?

Would the S&W 1911 be good for this purpose?

Thanks,

Mike

If you are considering open parts start with a para, later you will have a high cap that you could send to a gunsmith and have comp installed.

But basically anything for open is very specialized and therefore pricey.

If you want to go open though you don't want to start with a single stack in any manner.

You may have a difficult time meeting all your requirements. 1911 type, open class, and less than $1,000.

Just a few thoughts:

Put off going into open class until you get a feel for the sport. Buy an inexpensive single stack 1911 (there are many varieties and they are all pretty good).This should cost you less than $1,000. Buy some mags and a cheap holster and you can still start shooting matches for <$1,000.

If you want to start with a double stack for the feel try a Para Limited model and you still could get by for less than $1,000 if you shop well.

Attend a few matches and be sure you like it before you jump in with both feet. Once you are attending matches deals on open guns will, no doubt, present themselves if you catch the bug like the rest of us.

To find a local match go to www.uspsa.org and use the clubfinder. For accessories and even whole guns try www.shootersconnection.com