Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Open Glock Minor?

dhunt91

Okay I'm new to the whole open thing but was wanting to turn my limited g17 into an open gun.

Problem is I can not reload at the moment I'm still in college and don have the cash to drop on all the reloading gear plus the pistol parts as well.

Any suggestions? Will this even work for USPSA?

Also a parts list maybe? Iv done a bit of research on building an open g17 and am debating a slide mounted optic or one that kinda hovers? (Not sure the correct term for that)

Any help will be greatly appreciated!

-Dakota

I started shooting a Carver G17 in Feb, and until August I was strictly running factory ammo because I didn't reload either.

With regards to parts, how is your gun currently set up? It's give us all a better idea of what to recommend.

With regards to sight choices, that depends on what you like. Do you want it slide mounted, or do you prefer a bigger C-More sight?

When doing something like this, you'll want to run strictly CMJ'S/TMJ's or JHP's as she exposed lead base of a FMJ will leave lead deposits in your comp, thus clogging it up.

Well I've got a basic limited setup right now

Magwell and mag exstension and a new trigger other than that nothing else I was going to order and extended mag release and new guide rod spring but I was going to wait to see which one would be best

I don't want something anything in the dovetail right now as I'd like to leave the original sights on so I could take the comp and optic off for 3 gun tac optics

Which limits the mounting options I'm guessing

I'd prefer a c more sight but don't really want to have to modify the slide if it can be helped

Parts list so far to buy

Lone Wolf Barrel

http://www.lonewolfd...ROD=928&CAT=237

SJC Comp in matching threads

http://stores.sjcgun...or-5/Detail.bok

C More Slide Ride Grey In a 4 or 6 MOA Dot

http://cmore.com/sto...rodshow&ref=CSR

note sure on the mount yet