Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Trigger staging I caught my myself doing it

Shoepop

I'm new to revolver shooting and caught myself staging the trigger between transitions. I was getting it about half way pulled before on next target. It really seemed to settle gun down not having to get on target and full stroke the trigger. I then tried it on the draw but that was not as easy to do. I had a few premature shots before on target, nothing close but sure not on target. It sure seems like the way to go. Something I need to concentrate on perfecting ? Thanks

Yes staging a revolver trigger is a very usefull technique. With that being said , You have to be careful where you are willing to stage it. I practice staging with dryfires, transistions. A lot of revolver shooters start a draw from holster as a quick wrist snap bringing the gun out 45 degrees pointed down range and stage as you extend and pick up as much of your front sight as u choose to use , CAUTION THERE IS NOTHING AS NASTY AS HAVING A ACCIDENTAL DISCHARGE IN HOLSTER

In competition you must stage to be fast and accurate, just be sure to invest a lot of practice into it before u try and shoot a match. saftey is always a first concern...

Shoepop,

Instead of "stageing" the trigger, if you don't have a timer borrow one and figgure out how long it takes you to get a good sight picture and smoothly stroke the tigger and get another sight picture and smoothly stroke the trigger again but not stopping between shots.

example buzzer, draw gun comes up sees sights on target smoothly go through trigger, bang sights go up while sights are going up release trigger and start smoothly through the trigger again, sights come down settle on target bang.

might be something like this on the timer.

first shot 1.82 second shot .38